Red Sea islands

The number of islands in the Red Sea about 1150 of them constituting 88% of the total Saudi islands, characterized by sandy beaches and coastal reefs. They are divided into four main groups: 

The 1st Group: These islands exist in the northern tip of the Saudi coast between the entrance to the Gulf of Aqaba in the west and Al-Kharibah Bay in the east. For instance, there are Shoushah, Um Al-Hasani, Sindalah, Al-Thaqba, Al-Farsha, Barqan, and Um Qusour islands. 

The 2nd Group: These islands are located in the middle of the northern half of the Saudi coast in the area between Al-Wajh and Umluj towns. They include Rikha, Quwar, Um Roqah, Shibarah, Suwaihel, and Jabal Hassan (Al-Hassani) islands.

The 3rd Group: These islands lie in the middle of the southern half of the Saudi coast in the area between Al-Laith and Al-Qunfudah towns. For example, there are Jabal Al-Laith, Jabal Doqah, Thara Al-Tawilah, Um Al-Qamari, and Jabal Al-Sabaya islands.
The 4th Group: These islands are situated in the southern tip of the Saudi coast west of Jazan. They are represented in Farasan archipelago, which contains the richest environmental and biological diversity. For instance, there are different types of birds, coral reefs, and aquaculture of mussels and snails. Also, Farasan Islands are rich in crude amber that is a source of livelihood for some residents of the Farasan islands.  

Farasan Islands are the richest areas of coastal mangrove forests, and their water has several groups of rare coral reefs. Besides, there is a rich growth of red algae and sea grass, as well as there are nesting sea turtles and seabirds on the beaches. 

  • You can browse this site on all screen resolutions and all types of tablets and mobile phones.
    This site supports browsers : Internet Explorer Google Chrome Firefox Opera Safari
  • All Rights Reserved ©
    W3C StandardsW3C Standards